INDIGO Fall Meeting Wrap-up

We had a wonderful INDIGO meeting at the Supreme Court Law Library, State House in Indianapolis, on Thursday November 3!  It was a special meeting for many reasons.  We celebrated the Indiana State Library (ISL) being awarded 2022 Federal Depository Library of the Year.  Jacob Speer, State Librarian shared remarks on the Library’s long-standing dedication to collecting, promoting and preserving government information.  We also honored the contributions of many ISL staff which led to this recognition, especially the leadership of Brent Abercrombie, Federal Documents Librarian and Indiana Regional Depository Coordinator. 

We were joined virtually by the new GPO Superintendent of Documents, Scott Matheson and had an inspiring discussion about the U.S. Federal Depository Library Program and the work of Indiana depository libraries.  At the business meeting, we had a special farewell for our Vice Chair/Chair elect Diane Calvin, Ball State University.  After many years of dedicated service to INDIGO, she resigned from her position due to her upcoming retirement.

After a tour of the State House, which included a fascinating look at the Governor’s office, we had a lively conversation with three Indiana Supreme Court Justices, Justice Massa, Justice Molter, and Justice Slaughter.  They graciously shared insights after their workday and answered a lot of questions!  This discussion was hosted in person and virtually, but not recorded.

Thank you to everyone who helped plan this successful meeting!  Special thanks to our host, Cathrin Verano, Special Collection Development Librarian, Supreme Court Law Library.  She helped plan the program, making local arrangements for the State House tour and our meeting with the Supreme Court Justices.  She facilitated the meeting, which went very smoothly.  She arranged for the drinks and the great IT support.  She also gave us an in-close look at the library’s special collections, including artwork and rare books!  Jennifer Morgan, member of the Depository Library Council, arranged for Scott Matheson to join us virtually.  Thank you, Jennifer!  Brent Abercrombie helped us invite Jake Speer Indiana State Library, Deputy Director Stephanie Asberry, and many other Indiana State Library staff who have contributed to Indiana State Library’s outstanding government information collections and services.  Thank you, Brent!  We all really enjoyed the special FDLP cake brought by Lou Malcomb to celebrate the ISL’s Depository of the Year award, with a screen-printed depository icing.  Lou also volunteered to bring a special cupcake to celebrate Diane Calvin’s retirement and her many years of service in INDIGO.

I am pleased to announce that we have a nomination for Secretary/Treasurer — Cathrin Verano.  We still need a Vice Chair/Chair Elect to serve in place of Diane Calvin, who has resigned from the Board.

Important action items: 

  • INDIGO needs a volunteer for the Vice Chair/Chair Elect position to serve for a full year starting in November 2022.  We voted to approve Andrea and Brent to continue as Chair and Past Chair for one more year.
  • Please send your $10 INDIGO dues for the 2022/2023 membership year to Andrea Morrison, Acting Treasurer.  Use paper checks and this address.  Our bank recommends paper checks for accounting and verification purposes.

Andrea Morrison
Attention: INDIGO business
Technical Services Department
Herman B Wells Library, Room E350
Indiana University Libraries
1320 E. 10th St.
Bloomington, IN   47405-3907

I am thrilled to be part of our collaborative and vibrant community!  We have some wonderful plans for education and outreach activities this year.  Please volunteer to give or help with a webinar (to be hosted at the Indiana State Library).  Most of all, please volunteer as an officer!


Andrea Morrison

Indiana University Libraries
Bloomington, IN   47405

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s